The Gift

When we met on that park bench

something in me changed

An important feeling overcame me,

thoroughly

Every night became so like that day

You, overwhelming me

More that physically,

completely

When we parted at that train station,

I shook so much

My hope shattered

My heart torn

That’s why I’m here now

It’s been too long

The bench is still there

but all that happiness is gone

And even though you aren’t here

I’m whole, once more

I miss you still,

forever more

But, I have no regrets

With you, I grew

Do you even know?

You gave me more than I ever hoped for

Fast forward a few years . . .

I’m sitting in the that very park

My baby boy is laughing. . .

. . . He has your smile . . .

By: Sarah Fisk

Leave a Reply

